True Stories of Motherhood and Wifedoom

The truth and comedy of being a wife and mother

My Life as a Blur

“So if he is the tornado, you must be FEMA.”

In the light of the weather disasters that hit our country in the last two weeks, this comment is not in the best taste. But as you know from previous posts

The hubby has some of the most untactful comments EVER.

I still love him though, so be patient, he still in on-going training.

But he does have a point.

The ‘he’ the hubby is referencing to is Darren.

He can turn the living room from a spotless haven into a  haven strewn with toys, books, DVDs, sippy cups, dump trucks, balls, random pencils and pens he’s stolen from the cup on the desk, legos,  and clothes (clean and dirty).

The ‘he’ the hubby is forgetting to mention is himself, but that is another story.

I can’t keep up.

Between trying to keep up with laundry (read about my laundry woes here), preparing meals, keeping structure and an appropriate discipline system when necessary, worrying about what I should be wearing to work the next day, catching up with the OSB (Over Seas Bestie) contemplating writing a True Stories blog post, keeping my photography blog up to date, designing products for clients and among a half a million other things.

I honesty lose steam around the worrying stage and usually fall asleep in the middle of an OSB Facebook messaging session to wake up in the morning to realize the I had loaded the moveable dishwasher, added a soap packet, turned it on, but failed to actually turn on the faucet; a completely ineffective way to wash dishes, especially when you want a bowl clean for a quick breakfast of cereal.

Who am I kidding?

Breakfast is always an afterthought.

Instead of doing myself a favor and waking up at 6 a.m. like I am supposed to, I set my alarm to 6:30 a.m. to try to catch up that elusive thing called sleep.

In light of the blur my life has become have picked up tactics to make life less complicated.

1)      I have taught Darren how to throw things away, more specifically his own diapers (parents you know how valuable this is!)

2)      I have given up dreams of have no laundry to wash, fold or put way, except when my mother-in-law comes to visit. (She is such a God send!)

3)      If I am tired, I take a nap even; if it is 8 p.m. I might as well actually go to sleep instead a vegging on the couch watching endless Disney Channel shows that I find extremely humorous. (Blame it on the blissful numbness my brain feels by that point of the day.)

And despite of the blur my life has become I can say this:

This is the good life 🙂

3 comments on “My Life as a Blur

  1. cranky old man
    March 10, 2012

    Sometimes life needs to be a blur so you can survive. Years from now your focus of these times will seem clear and sharp and those memories will make today’s blur worth the effort.

    Cranky Old Man

    • BNash
      March 10, 2012

      Thanks for for the comment! I agree! survival is key at this point!

  2. rhonda
    March 12, 2012

    nice blog!!! I like your choice of topics to discuss! now come visit me sometime!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 9, 2012 by in blessed, boys, children, cleaning, cooking, family, humor, Laundry, motherhood, naps, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
